Fir has a rich history, starting out life in 1935 as a 70ft tug for the Severn & Canal Carrying Company (SCCC). One of 8 boats built between 1934 and 1935 and all commissioned to work for Cadbury’s, this set of boats became known as Seveners. In 1950 she was sold to Charles Ballinger and renamed Bridget. 1963 she was sold again to Wyvern Shipping and was cut down to 55ft (two boats would often be cut down to make a third). Fir was restored by Duncan Knapp boat fitter at Cowroast Marina and sold to us in 1995 when she was moved to Bath and lived on for 20 years before being used for leisure.
Let’s have a look at what makes Fir special, Within the dedicated engine room we find a Lister 29hp engine to provide propulsion. Hot water is supplied by a Morco water heater and Central heating via a Morso Squirrel. Electrical systems comprise of a 12v, 240v landline, Victron Sinewave Phoenix 12/800 inverter, 1 starter & 4 leisure batteries. The galley has been fitted with Oak worktops and a Hotpoint cooker. Within the bathroom we can find a newly fitted shower along with a Cassette toilet and vanity basin. Accommodation of 4 berths is offered over a Double Cross Bed and a double sofa bed in the saloon. With 3 side hatches (one either side of the engine room and one above the kitchen sink), large storage area in the bow. BSC November 2026. Blacked 2019.
If you are looking to a part of history then look no further than Fir, she is rich in history and has been loving cared for throughout her life.
Oak, one of Fir’s 7 sisters, is kept at the Waterways Heritage Museum in Gloucester.